Building Excellence

Dedicated to the people who make our built environment better and safer. We tell your stories and celebrate your successes.

Register with us and receive industry news and content only available to subscribers.


Indianapolis, IN, USA (HQ)

903 E. Ohio St., Indianapolis, IN 46202

Call: (317) 423-2325

60 Companies Honored for Outstanding Performance in Safety and Construction

Solid Platforms
Solid Platforms
Morrison Construction
Morrison Construction
Superior Construction
Superior Construction
CROWN POINT, IN – Nearly 60 Northwest Indiana construction companies were honored for their outstanding performances in safety and project excellence at the Construction Awards Banquet held in Merrillville. Construction industry firms from throughout the region greatly exceed national averages in safety performance and project outcomes, and the banquet is a celebration of those achievements.

The event is coordinated as a joint effort by the Northwest Indiana Business RoundTable (NWIBRT) and the Construction Advancement Foundation (CAF). NWIBRT’s awards focus specifically on safety and CAF’s awards focus on multiple areas of construction performance and project outcomes.

Awards were given to a variety of firms based on topics like safety performance figures, jobsite innovation, collaborative efforts to improve construction, professional development, and more. Representatives from major regional firms like BP, Cleveland-Cliffs, NIPSCO, Cargill, Franciscan Health, and many other leading companies were in attendance.

"At the heart of successful construction projects lies an unwavering commitment to safety. Companies in NWI continually strive to improve their safety practices, even amidst the most challenging of circumstances. We are honored to recognize and celebrate these companies, whose dedication to safety not only sets them apart but elevates the entire regional construction industry,” said NWIBRT Safety Committee Chair and Cargill Health & Safety Manager Rick A. Foor.

"It is truly inspiring to witness the ingenuity and superior craftsmanship that is consistently demonstrated in construction projects throughout our region. We take great pride in recognizing and honoring the remarkable achievements of these outstanding craftspeople and contractors. Their dedication and commitment to excellence are evident in their daily work, as they lay the foundation for the future of our communities and serve as leaders for others in the construction industry,” said Dewey Pearman, executive director of CAF.

2023 NWIBRT Award Winners
Contractor of the Year
  • Solid Platforms, Inc. (Over 500,000 hours worked in NWI)
  • Hard Rock Concrete Cutters (Under 500,000 hours worked in NWI)
Komatsu Dealer Program
Your local Komatsu America Corp dealer
Brandeis Machinery

Company of the Year

  • Falk PLI

Owner Excellence in Leadership

  • BP
  • Cargill

Innovation Award

  • Cargill, Inc.
  • EMCOR Hyre Electric
  • Fluor Constructors - Suncoke
  • Thatcher Foundations, Inc.
  • Total Safety U.S., Inc.

Site Safety Leader of the Year (Roger Walters Memorial Award)

  • David Cooper, Thatcher Foundations, Inc.

Excellence Award

  • Advanced Engineering Services
  • AMS Industries, Inc.
  • Brock Industrial Services, LLC
  • Calumet Lumber, Inc.
  • Falk-PLI
  • Fluor Constructors - Suncoke
  • Hard Rock Concrete Cutters
  • Industrial Contractors & Engineers, Inc.
  • Luse Contracting Group
  • Meccon Industries, Inc.
  • Middough, Inc.
  • N.A. Logan, Inc.
  • Nooter Chicago
  • One Way Safety
  • Petrochem Insulation
  • R.J. Mycka, Inc.
  • Solid Platforms, Inc.
  • Stevenson Crane Service, Inc.
  • Superior Engineering, LLC
  • Total Mill Services, Inc.
  • Valdes Architecture and Engineering

Achievement Award

  • ACMS Group, Inc.
  • Atlas Technical Consultants
  • BMWC Constructors
  • Continental Electric Company, Inc.
  • DLZ Industrial, LLC
  • Griffin Contract Dewatering, LLC
  • K2 Industrial Services, Inc.
  • Superior Construction
  • Total Safety U.S., Inc.

Recognition Award

  • Barton Malow Company
  • Central Rent-A-Crane, Inc.
  • EMCOR Hyre Electric
  • Fluor Constructors - Cargill
  • Hasse Construction Company, Inc.
  • Hayes Mechanical
  • Meade Industries
  • Morrison Construction Company
  • Orbital Engineering, Inc.
  • Rieth-Riley Construction Co., Inc.
  • Sargent Electric Company
  • SEI Solutions
  • Thatcher Foundations, Inc.
  • The Pangere Corporation
  • Tonn and Blank Construction
  • Tranco Industrial Services, Inc.

Outstanding Crafts Persons Safety Leader Award

  • David Adams, Hard Rock Concrete Cutters
  • Jess Adams, DLZ Industrial
  • Kurt Allison, Thatcher Foundations
  • John Babe, BMWC Constructors
  • Jason Bannwart, Milestone Contractors
  • Mike Bilderback, Sargent Electric Company
  • Steve Birchett, Morrison Construction Co.
  • Jim Booker, Korellis
  • Sean Burke, Barton Malow
  • Kevin Carrico, Thatcher Foundations
  • William Clausing, Sargent Electric Company
  • Johnny Cross, Korellis
  • Shaun Daly, Morrison Construction Company
  • Joe Dapshis, Industrial Contractors & Engineers
  • Todd Doland, Fluor Constructors
  • Robert Donovan, DLZ Industrial
  • Jason Fowler, ICE Scaffolding
  • Tony Garwood, Fluor Constructors
  • Jordan Grommet, Cargill
  • Jorge Hernandez, Barton Malow
  • Robin Jimenez, Fluor Constructors
  • Rick Kekelik, Fluor Constructors
  • Robert Matijevich, Morrison Construction Co.
  • Brian Murray, DLZ Industrial
  • Michael Neidow, Morrison Construction Co.
  • Nate Peffers, Solid Platforms, Inc.
  • Jerry Ripley, Morrison Construction Company
  • Jerry Russell, EMCOR Hyre Electric
  • Nick Sekulowski, Fluor Constructors
  • Jamie Serrano, The Pangere Corporation
  • Tim Singleton, Superior Construction
  • Brian Taubee, Rieth-Riley Construction
  • Bill VanSchepen, Rieth-Riley Construction
  • Jaime Vargas, Milestone Contractors
  • Roy Walter, Sargent Electric Company
  • Jason Zelenc, Industrial Contractors & Engineers
  • Matt Zuzich, Hard Rock Concrete Cutters

Certificates of Appreciation

  • Jim Arendas, CAF
  • Rick A. Foor, Cargill
  • Brian Fordon, Valdes Engineering Company
  • Kaley Kostelnik, Total Safety U.S., Inc.
  • Shoji Nakayama, University of Wisconsin
  • Clay West, Cargill
2023 CAF Award Winners
Contractors of the Year
  • Commercial Contractor of the Year:Larson-Danielson Construction Company, Inc.
  • Industrial Contractor of the Year: Hasse Construction Company, Inc.
  • Highway Contractor of the Year: Superior Construction
  • Professional/Engineering Contractor of the Year: DLZ Industrial
  • Specialty Contractor of the Year: Thatcher Foundations, Inc.

Excellence in Professional Development

  • Hasse Construction Company, Inc.

Projects of the Year

  • Maintenance/Service Project of the Year: ACMS Group, Inc., Cleveland-Cliffs Burns Harbor Coke Plant
  • Industrial/Capital Project of the Year: Morrison Construction Company, United States Steel Pig Iron Caster
  • Commercial Project of the Year: Larson-Danielson Construction Company, Inc., Northwest Health – LaPorte
  • Public Works Project of the Year: Hasse Construction Company, Inc., City of East Chicago
  • Highway Project of the Year: Superior Construction, INDOT Bridge Deck Overlays
Wirtgen America Inc
Your local Wirtgen America dealer
Brandeis Machinery
Wirtgen America Inc
Your local Wirtgen America dealer
Brandeis Machinery
Leeboy - Pavers/Asphalt
Your local LeeBoy dealer
Brandeis Machinery